Fellows Mentors

The USITT Fellows are a group of individuals with a long track record of regional, national and international service to the Institute. These men and women represent all sectors of the entertainment design and technology profession and each has made significant contributions to the field. Fellows include theatre administrators, consultants, designers, educators, installers, manufacturers, suppliers, technicians, writers who have experience over many years and invaluable contacts within the industry. Some are retired but still working while others continue their careers. They offer students and young professionals the opportunity to network with the people who are critical to making decisions with regard to further education, internships, entry-level employment and application of skills to related industries. The Fellows have identified members who express an interest in working with those seeking mentors and encourage USITT student and early career members, in particular, to take advantage of the following list and make initial contact via email. A large majority of Fellows attend each annual conference where we conduct an event “Open Mentoring Session for Students” that may be another way to access the opportunity for finding a mentor.

Early Career Mentoring Program

Following is a list of Fellows who indicate they are available to mentor students and early career professionals. The best way to make contact is via their email address. It should be noted all mentoring arrangements are subject to individual availability and the most effective means of communication.

Name - Area/s of interest

  • Judy Adamson – Costume technology / production 
    jadamson@email.unc.edu
  • Joe Aldridge – Technical direction, live entertainment
    joe.aldridge@unlv.edu
  • Lea Asbell-Swanger – Arts management / presenting
    ela1@psu.edu
  • Lance Brockman – Scenic art / pictorial scenic design
    brock001@umn.edu
  • Bill Browning – Theatre production, lighting, CAD, graphics, writing
    bbrownin@udel.edu
  • Bill Byrnes – Theatre / arts management, leadership, finance, producing, non-profit practices
    wmbyrnes@gmail.com
  • Laura Crow – Costume design
    laura.crow@uconn.edu
  • Dick Devin – Lighting design, technical production, production management, general management
    devinr@colorado.edu
  • Rich Dunham – Lighting design, higher education, publishing
    rdunham@uga.edu    
  • Randy Earle – Theatre consulting, facility design, lighting design, higher education
    randyearle@earthlink.net
  • Jerry Gorrell - Technical direction
    jerryg@jgorrell.com
  • Elynmarie Kazle – Stage management, production management, arts administration, high school education and mentoring, fundraising and development
    emk2u@aol.com
  • Tim Kelly – Facilities management, arts administration, owner’s representation
    tkellyoffstage@gmail.com
  • Tom Lemons – Lamps, optics, product design, architectural lighting design professions 
    tmlattla@aol.com
  • Pat MacKay – New business development, themed entertainment production, public relations, marketing, publishing
    mackayonline@gmail.com
  • Richard Pilbrow – Lighting design, theatre design
    rplight@me.com
  • Michael Ramsaur – Lighting design, internationalism
    mram@stanford.edu
  • Bob Scales – Technical production, theatre education
    rscales@usc.edu
  • Paul Vincent – Lighting design and application
    pvincent@vls.com

If you have any questions about fellow mentoring contact, Randy Earle randyearle@earthlink.net or Dick Devin devinr@colorado.edu