Institute Awards

USITT recognizes excellence and significant contributions in the performing arts and entertainment industry, in the areas of design and technology, through a variety of awards. These awards honor established professionals and performing arts/entertainment-focused organizations throughout the world. Nominations for these special awards are accepted from the membership-at-large.

Nominate Here

Deadline to nominate:  July 8, 2019


Special Achievement Awards

The USITT Award, the highest honor given by USITT, recognizes a lifetime of distinguished contribution to the performing arts or entertainment communities in any capacity.

The Joel E. Rubin Founder's Award is given to a USITT member in recognition of outstanding and continued service to the Institute.

The Thomas DeGaetani Award honors a lifetime contribution to the performing arts in a particular region of the country, generally in the location of the Annual Conference & Stage Expo.

Honorary Lifetime Member Award This small but very distinguished group of individuals have been recognized for providing "a lifetime of continuous service to the Institute".

Special Citations recognize outstanding achievement in any area of the performing arts by an individual or an organization.

Distinguished Achievement Awards
The Distinguished Achievement Awards honor an individual who has established a meritorious career record in a specific field of expertise in any area of design or technology in the performing arts or entertainment industry.

Publication Awards
These awards honor authors of major publications in design and technology for the performing arts and distinguished articles in TD&T.

Golden Pen Award honors an outstanding publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts.

The Herbert D. Greggs Awards promote innovative, in-depth writing about theatre design and technology in TD&T.




Nominate Here