Bernhard R. Works Master Crafts Award

Christina Curtis, 2018 Master Craftsman Award Winner

This award was established in 2013 by USITT Fellow Bernhard R. Works, Ph.D, professor emeritus of design and technical production at the University of Illinois and 2011 recipient of USITT's Joel E. Rubin Founders Award and sponsor of the Frederick A. Buerki Golden Hammer Scenic Technology Award.

Requirements & Eligibility

Winners of this award receives $1,000 & Conference registration for USITT Conference & Stage Expo.

Awards presented at USITT Conference & Stage Expo.

This award recognizes a graduating undergraduate as a practicing theatre artisan. This award is to enhance further student training and/or development in one of four craft areas: scene painting, stage properties, costume making, and lighting technology. The award will be given on an annual rotating basis. The 2020 award will be for Costume and Wardrobe Crafts.

Past Recipients

2018 Christina Curtis - Scenic Painting
2017 Philip Rheinheimer - Lighting Design
2015 Emily Morrisey - Stage Properties
2014 Alexa Busnot - Scenic Painting