Nominate by Feb. 29 for 2017 USITT Officers, Directors


USITT’s Nominations Committee is seeking members who are ready and willing to lead the Institute for the next election cycle, for the class of 2017 to 2020. The committee has moved the deadline to nominate to Feb. 29 to allow them time to consider the nominations before the 2016 Annual Conference & Stage Expo begins March 16.

Members can submit nominations here.

The committee seeks nominees for President-Elect, a five-year commitment lasting July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2022: one year as President-Elect, three years as President and one year as Immediate Past President.

Nominations are also open for six Board of Director slots and four officer positions, all of which involve a three-year commitment (July 1, 2017-June 30, 2020). Please nominate for:

  • Secretary
  • VP Commissions
  • VP Conferences
  • VP International Activities
  • Six Director positions


Please review the eligibility requirements and expectations for Board members prior to nominating an individual. Check with the individual being nominated to be sure they can fulfill the requirements and expectations.

Candidates may self-nominate. Self-nominations are given equal consideration.

Nominators will receive the following notification: “Your nomination is in process but not yet submitted. You may continue working on this nomination at a later date by copying and pasting the link below into your browser. This link has also been emailed to the nominee and nominator's email accounts.”

The nominee then must fill out their portion of the form and add submittals: bio, CV, Institute contributions, etc. Nominations must be completed by Feb. 29, so the Committee can familiarize themselves with the candidates prior to their two meetings at USITT 2016 in Salt Lake City.

Nominations Committee members will wear buttons at the Conference. Candidates for nomination are encouraged to introduce themselves. This allows the Committee to put a face with a name and have a chat. Members are also encouraged to strike up a conversation with Committee members about becoming a candidate in the future or ask any questions about the process.

Nominations Committee members are Jimmie Byrd, Secretary/Committee Chair; Chip Haas; Kate Ellis; P. Gibson Ralph; Paul Vincent; Karen Maness; Shane Kelly; Beth Martell; Vickie Scott; David Glowacki; Tina Shackleford; Kimb Williamson; Ryan Kirk; and Emily Gill.

Members may also take advantage of the petition process to add their names to the ballot; this petition option is available after the slate is announced on July 1. Petitions are due by September 1. It is the Institute’s policy to not differentiate on the ballot between nominees put forward by the Committee and nominees by petition.

Any questions, please contact Jimmie Byrd at



Back to news



Rate this News Article:

Spell Check

No comments have been posted to this News Article