

Association for Performing Arts & Entertainment Professionals

usitt.org

United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc. 290 Elwood Davis Road | Suite 100 Liverpool, NY 13088

T 800.938.7488 or 315.463.6463 F 866.398.7488 or 315.463.6525

info@usitt.org

AGENDA FOR USITT BOARD OF DIRECTORS BUSINESS MEETING AND RETREAT Monday, August 7th, 9:00 AM – 6:00 PM EST; Orientation and Business Meeting Tuesday, August 8th, 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM EST; Training and Retreat In-Person; Network Room, Hyatt Regency Indianapolis, IN

Attending:

Board of Directors: K. Allee-Foreman (Ex Officio), J. Baldwin, A. Bellet, K. Corbett-Oates, P. Estell, A. Glover, T. Hardin, T. Hausmann, T. Houston, J. Jacobs-Evans, M. Mitchell, K. Scott, J. Streeter, D. Taylor, A. Tripathi, N. Queenan, K. Williamson, L. Everett (Ex Officio)

Excused Absence: A. Casey, A. Duggan, C. Gillett, C. Satter, Y. Williams Unexcused Absence: Board Fellows: J. Gonzalez, K. Jensen Staff: M. Blackmon, J. Harris, F. Taylor, C. Troscher Guests: C. Ford

BUSINESS MEETING AGENDA

- 1. Call to Order & Agenda Approval 2:18 PM
 - 1.1. Announcements & Introductions
 - 1.2. Call for New Business

Verbal Report submitted for Nominations Committee

2. Corrections and Approval of Minutes from June Meeting (5m) Approved

3. Consent Agenda items (5m)

- 3.1 Sherry Wagner-Henry Leadership Development Initiative Co-Chairs Approved
- 3.2 Distinguished Achievement Awards Approved (Confidential until Conference)
- 3.3 Special Achievement Awards. **Approved** (Confidential until Conference)
- 3.4 Commission Leadership 2023-2024; removed from Consent Agenda
- 4. Governance Reports & Action Items
 - 4.1. President's Update K. Scott
 - Nominations Brief attached; T. Hardin
 - Future Board Meeting Dates
 - Expectations of Board Members: engage in and support Regional activities and meetings throughout the year; support the development committee; attend and prepare for committee service
 - C. Satter will address future travel policy for Board Retreat attendance

Tabled for October Board Meeting

4.2. Treasurer's Update – K. Scott Treasurer's Report attached
4.3. Secretary's Update – A. Bellet Secretary's Report attached

5. Operational Reports – Everett

5.1. Reports

Posted under Basecamp Documents/Board Packets 23-24

Report from the Commissioner's Retreat – C. Troscher

Update on Education and Training Opportunities

Searching for additional resources for advanced 365-education

Cost/ROI Quandary

October 10th, Conference Launch event – J. Harris

Fees discussion – M. Blackmon

Rooted in discussion of Student Assistant fees

History and context of fees/responsibilities

Comparative Organizational Policies

Moved (Verbal): Review options (generated by the office) for balancing the fees and cost at October Board Meeting

Review of the New Membership Structure - M. Blackmon & J. Harris

Code of Conduct for the Institute – L. Everett

C. Ford will work with I.D.E.A.S. to create a Code of Conduct not just for conference, but for USITT and every event hosted by the Institute

6. New Business

6.1 Commission Leadership 2023-2024 Approved

7. Executive Session 5:41 PM

8. Adjournment 6:30 PM

Respectfully Submitted, Ashley Bellet, Secretary

NEXT BOARD MEETINGS:

October 3rd 2023, 4 PM Eastern/1 PM Pacific; via Zoom November 14th 2023, 4 PM Eastern/1 PM Pacific; via Zoom January 9th 2024, 4 PM Eastern/1 PM Pacific; via Zoom March 19th 2024, 2:00-6:00 PM Pacific; In-Person Seattle, WA Followed by the President's Reception May 14th 2024, 4 PM Eastern/1 PM Pacific; via Zoom June 11th 2024, 4 PM Eastern/1 PM Pacific; via Zoom Only if needed - will be determined by the March meeting

	Association for Performing Arts & Entertainment	United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.	290 Elwood Davis Road Suite 100 Liverpool, NY 13088
usitt	& Entertainment Professionals		T 800.938.7488 or 315.463.6463 F 866.398.7488 or 315.463.6525
	usitt.org		info@usitt.org

United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc.

REQUEST FOR BOARD OF DIRECTORS' ACTION

[Please use one form for each request for action/motion] Committee/ Commission/ Section/ Office: ____Carolyn Satter_____

Chair or Officer Name: _President_____

 Telephone Business:
 _____619-459-3144_____
 Home:

Date submitted: ____JULY 26, 2023______

(X) Please place this item on the Consent Agenda.

() Please place this item in the Regular Agenda for Board discussion.

Issue Brief:

The Sherry Wagner-Henry Leadership Development Initiative was set up to support aspiring Arts Management individuals to participate in the Board of Director experience. One opportunity is for Board mentees to experience the USITT to participate in Board meetings and activities for one year. The chair(s) of this committee monitor and monitor the chosen's progress, along with reviewing the process and updating, as needed, the procedures in place.

With the Debra Sherrer fulfilling her Board service, I recommend that Trish Hausmann and Pinky Estell cochair the Sherry Wagner-Henry Leadership Development Initiative

Action Requested:

The Board approves the co-chairs of Trish Hausmann and Pinky Estell for the Fy 2024 Sherry Wagner Henry Leadership Development Initiative.

Association for Performing Arts	United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc	290 Elwood Davis Road Suite 10 Liverpool, NY 13088				
USITT & Entertainment Professionals		T 800.938.7488 or 315.463.6463 F 866.398.7488 or 315.463.6525				
usitt.org		info@usitt.org				
United States Institute for Theatre Technology, Inc. REQUEST FOR BOARD OF DIRECTORS' ACTION [Please use one form for each request for action/motion]						
Committee/ Commission/ Section/ Office: _Secretary						
Chair or Officer Name: _Ashley Bellet						
Telephone Business:918 704 6291	Home:					
Date submitted:8/4/23						

(X) Please place this item on the Consent Agenda.

() Please place this item in the Regular Agenda for Board discussion.

Issue Brief: Every fiscal year the Board must vote on the leadership of the 11 current commissions. Following some changes in structure, the Commissions met this weekend at their Retreat and have brought forward names for incoming leadership, including a three-person leadership council. The list is as follows:

Commission Leadership Council: Tori Mays, Rosie Alumbaugh, Rich Dionne

<u>Architecture</u>: Dave Vieira, Topher Skulley, Jean Gonzalez-Hill <u>Costume Design and Technology</u>: Jana Henry Funderburk, Lauren Roark, Jennifer Flitton Adams <u>Digital Media</u>: Megan Reilly, Matt Reynolds, Kevin Gawley <u>Education</u>: Matthew Allar, Anne Medlock, DeMara Cabrera <u>Engineering</u>: Justin Bennett, Wendy Russell, Michelle Fleming <u>Lighting Design and Technology</u>: Jesse Portillo, Tori Mays, Jonathan Allender-Zivic <u>Management</u>: Lawrence Bennett, Lisa Anderson <u>Safety and Health</u>: Sandy Everett, Rosie Hartman-Alumbaugh <u>Scenic Design and Technology</u>: Charlie Calvert, Bridgette Dennett, Lisa Borton <u>Sound Design and Technology</u>: Davin Huston, Michelle Ohumukini, Carolina Perez Technical Production: Zak Stribling, MJ Sedlock, Latiana 'LT' Gourzong

Action Requested: Vote to accept Commission Leadership as listed, to be posted on the website.