USITT Scene Design & Technology Commission

The Scene Design & Technology Commission furthers interest in the areas of scene design, scenic painting, and properties: provides information about innovations and trends within the field, encourages improvements in the teaching of design.

Commission Leadership:

Commissioner: Charlie Calvert
VC of Programming: Lisa Borton
VC for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion: Anita Tripathi

VC for Education: Jesse Dreikosen
International Liaison: Rob Eastman Mullins
VC for Safety and Health: Pending Acceptance
VC for New Technologies: Nick Embree
VC for Scenic Design: Pending Acceptance
VC for Scenic Art: Pending Acceptance
VC for Props: Karin Rabe
VC for Early Career/Students: Pending Acceptance
VC for History and Heritage: Wendy Waszutt-Barrett
Coordinator for Portfolio Review, Early Career Mentor: Michelle Bisbee
Coordinator for Portfolio Review, Early Career Mentor: Mary Wayne-Thomas
Publications Liaison for TD&T: Anita Tripathi

Updated: August 31, 2022


Among other projects, the Commission honors distinguished scenic designers with awards and sessions about their designs during the Annual Conference & Stage Expo. Some of those honored are Ralph Funicello, Karl Eigsti, and Richard L. Hay.