USITT Costume Design & Technology Commission

The Costume Design & Technology Commission provides members with opportunities to share ideas, exchange information, develop professionally, and affect the future welfare and development of those in fields including, but not limited to Costume Design, Costume Technology, Management, Hair & Make-up Design and Technology, Wardrobe and Backstage Technologies, and Education in all aspects of the Entertainment Industries:

  • Endorsing projects that will benefit the profession and support goals.
  • Encouraging members through Commission meetings, formal and informal gatherings, monthly Sightlines articles, yearly symposia, and networking to become actively involved in programming for conferences and in projects.
  • Sponsoring the annual symposium in various locations at reasonable rates to involve as many people as possible.
  • Providing avenues for individual professional development through costume design and technology portfolio reviews for professionals and students.
  • Promoting health, safety, and welfare of those in the field by identifying problems, issues, and concerns and working toward endorsable solutions.

Commission Leadership:

Commissioner: Jana Henry Funderburk
Programing (eSHOW) Commissioner: Lauren Roark
Programming Commissioner: Jennifer Flitton Adams
IDEAS Representative: Rosa Lazaro
History & Heritage Representative: Vacant
Programming Advisors: Jennifer Daszczyszak, Esther Van Eek, Jason Estala, Allison Crutchfield, Meghan Pearson, Landy Fink

Student Advisor: Abbie Hagen

Communication Coordinator: Jennifer Sheshko Wood
Teaching Archive & Publications Coordinator: Rebecca Turk

Poster Session Coordinator: Laurie Kurutz
Incoming Awards Coordinator: Lara Berich

Volunteer Coordinator: Heather Milam
OISTAT Costume Working Group Representative: Kerry Bechtel

At Large Advisors: Jordan Draper, Randy Handley

Updated: Oct. 20, 2023

Every year at the USITT Conference & Stage Expo the Costume Design & Technology Commission holds an informational and working meeting to update the membership on the state of current projects and initiatives supported by the Commission. Commission meetings are always open to the membership. Please take this opportunity to network with your colleagues, find out what is new with the commission, see where you can get involved, and find out what the Costume Design & Technology Commission can do for you!


The Survey of Costume Design and Technology Programs provides information on undergraduate and graduate in costume design or technology. Programs are listed in alphabetical order or in a regional index.

The Commercial Pattern Archives has a database that includes more than 35,000 patterns ranging from 1868 through 1968. Many of the patterns are available on a three-CD set.

The Costume Locator Service, the Costume Listserv, and the Costume Storage Database are currently unavailable.

The Commission maintains a link to the OISTAT Costume Working Group so that USITT members can stay abreast of OISTAT activities. Also, click here to visit the Prague Quadrennial (PQ) web page.


The Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated excellence or outstanding potential in the areas of costume design or technology in the performing arts while pursuing a graduate degree.

The Barbara Matera Award in Costume Making sponsored by Judy Adamson is awarded to an individual who has demonstrated excellence or outstanding potential as a costume maker for the performing arts and/or entertainment industries. This award recognizes the costume maker, and is not intended to recognize achievement in design. 

The USITT Makeup Design Award sponsored by Kryolan Professional Make-Up was established in 1998. Kryolan offers professional makeup designers a system of products and services to help them cope with the tasks of their work through innovative products and education in the proper application of these many products.

The Bernhard R. Works Master Craftsmanship Award was established in 2013 by USITT Fellow , Ph.D. — professor emeritus of design and technical production at the University of Illinois and 2011 recipient of USITT's Joel E. Rubin Founders Award and sponsor of the Frederick A. Buerki "Golden Hammer" Scenic Technology Award. 2016 award will be for costume making.