USITT22 Award Winners

Congratulations to our 2022 award winners! We will be honoring all of our winners at USITT22 in Baltimore, March 2-5.

Distinguished Achievement Awards (DAA)

The Distinguished Achievement Awards honor individuals who have established meritorious career records in specific fields of expertise in any area of design or technology in the performing arts or entertainment industry. Each will be a featured part of the Conference in a special session presented by one of the Commissions.

Areas of achievement include, but are not limited to disciplines represented by the Commissions of USITT, scenic design, lighting design, sound design, technical direction, costume design & technology, theatre architecture, theatrical consulting, production management, stage or arts management, entertainment technology, education, or a convergence of these disciplines.

Sound Design: Michael Hooker

Costume Design: Terri Purcell

Scene Design: Donyale Werle

Education: Dick Block

Lighting Design: John McKernon

To learn more about our DAA winners, click here.

Publications Awards

Oscar G. Brockett Golden Pen Award

Oscar G. Brockett Golden Pen Award, sponsored by USITT and the Oscar G. Brockett Center for Theatre History and Criticism at the University of Texas - Austin, honors an outstanding publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts. The recipient of this award is the author of an outstanding, major, recent publication in the field of design and production for the performing arts.

Winner: Joseph Brandesky

Publication: "Jaroslav Malina in Scenography and Painting"

Herbert D. Greggs Award

The Herbert D. Greggs Awards promote innovative, in-depth writing about theatre design and technology in TD&T.

Honor: Yoshi Tanokura

Publication: "Millions of Shared Ideas in One Brush Stroke"

Merit: Skye Strauss

Publication: "The Working of a Wild Mind"

Architecture Awards

Sponsored by the USITT Architecture Commission, the Architecture Awards Program honors excellence in the design and recognize architects of theatre projects for 25 years.


Klarman Hall; Boston


Tanglewood Linde Center for Music and Learning; Lenox, MA


Gonzaga University Myrtle Woldson Performing Arts Center; Spokane, WA

To learn more about our Architecture Award winners, click here.

Thomas DeGaetani Award

The Thomas DeGaetani Award, named in honor of the first USITT president, honors an outstanding lifetime contribution to the performing arts or entertainment industry by an individual or a performing arts/entertainment-focused organization living and/or working in a particular region of the country, generally near the location of the Annual Conference & Stage Expo. Recipients of this award have distinguished themselves by their service or contribution in the arts or entertainment within that region.

Winner: Arena Players Inc.

To learn more about the Thomas DeGaetani Award winner, click here.

Wally Russell Professional Mentoring Award

The Wally Russell Mentoring Award is presented by USITT in partnership with the Wally Russell Foundation to honor someone who embodies the guiding hand that Wally Russell provided to many young professionals.

Winner: Jay Sheehan

To learn more about the Wally Russell Professional Mentoring Award winner, click here.

Rising Star Award

The Rising Star Award, sponsored by LDI/Live Design, is given annually to a young professional at the beginning of their career. The award recognizes excellence and artistic achievement in scenic, lighting, sound, projection design, or a convergence of these design disciplines. 

Winner: Kristen Martino

To learn more about the Rising Star Award winner, click here.

Young Designers, Managers, & Technicians (YDMT) Awards

The Awards for YDMT bring recognition and support to young designers, managers, and technicians at the beginning of their careers. They are made possible by generous gifts to USITT from their sponsors. 

KM Fabrics Technical Production Award Winner: Cam Camden

The Barbara Matera Award for Costume Making Winner: Emma Craig

Richard Hay Undergraduate Scene Design Award Winner: Maggie Nelson

Zelma H. Weisfeld Costume Design & Technology Award Winner: Zhang Yu

Bernhard R. Works, Frederick A. Buerki Scenic Technology Award Winner: Hyejin Son

Barbizon Lighting Company Jonathan Resnick Lighting Design Award Winner: Denisse Chavez

USITT Stage Management Award Winner: Sarah Bauch

Bernhard R. Works Master Crafts Award Winner: Riley Lathrom

USITT Scene Design Award Sponsored by Rose Brand Winner: Kevin McBee

To learn more about the YDMT Award Winners, click here.